Lucinda’s Learning Lightbulbs

So, I’ve done it! I’ve finally taken the plunge and set up my blog – something I’ve been meaning to do for ages. And why? I’ve been teaching for two and a half years now and every day has been a delight and a challenge and I want to shout about it! Many people wax lyrical about how wonderful a job teaching is, and I would definitely agree with all of the standard contributions to the list of perks: being paid to talk about my favourite books, never sitting at a computer all day, teenagers being genuinely hilarious and frustrating in equal measure, changing lives…all of that.

But that’s not what I want to talk about in this blog.

I think teachers today are incredible – teaching as a profession has developed exponentially, with research rightly challenging accepted ideas about how children learn. So much so, that I sometimes wonder whether we have become so proficient at teaching that students have become less good at learning!

Having said that, I think there’s a lot still we can do. Tried and tested ideas are just that, but we can’t stop there. We have to keep trying, keep testing, and keep on working out the best way to get these children through their examinations while making them actually want to learn – no easy feat!

Which brings me to what I want to do with this blog. The learning lightbulbs of this blog’s title are ideas, theories, challenges, desires, things which I would want to change, adapt, develop, research, explore, and, more importantly, share. So, please lend me your ears, tell me what you think, and let’s change the world.

Leave a Reply

